July is #WorldWatercolorMonth

July is World Watercolor Month thanks to the efforts of the incomparable Charlie O’Shields. I won’t be participating daily due to other commitments and my sore shoulder, but I encourage artists to join the fun and non-artists to give it a try.

 

There are no rules to this challenge save for using some sort of water-media to make your art. I know people who want to use this challenge to practice certain subjects, but I’m not that organized, so I’ll just paint whatever strikes my fancy.

IMG_2570

This is an attempt at capturing the wild and dry landscape of Big Bend National Park. You can tell someone (me…) is a little rusty at landscapes. Rough outline of rock structures drawn with 2B graphite. Painted with Sennelier travel watercolors on 140lb Strathmore Visual Journal.

