Decades of progress

A friend of mine, Kim Zarins (whose new book, Sometimes We Tell The Truth, is coming out soon…it’s a cool contemporary retelling of The Canterbury Tales that you must check out), shared a post on Facebook of a well-known illustrator’s art as a child versus a piece he did recently, contrasting the improvements in his craft. I thought that was a fun thing to do and told her I’d be happy to participate, so this is for Kim.

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 1.21.18 PM

My drawing of people at age 8:

IMG_1416

a bit overworked, I’d say

at age 18…I think I improved a little in 10 years:

IMG_1466

at about age 28:

image

at about age 38:

sarahcassy

at age 51:

FullSizeRender(8)

Sad to say, I think I showed exponential improvement between the age of 8 and 18, and then have plateaued ever since.

Also, I apologize to my blogging friends: my internet and my cell service yesterday was really bad and I couldn’t get posts to load even on the Reader so I missed a number of your posts. Not sure if I’ll have time to catch up today but I’ll try!

29 thoughts on “Decades of progress

  1. Hi, Tee, I absolutely love this progression. Simply wonderful idea. To see and acknowledge how far we’ve come is such a terrific principle, esp. for folks like you and I who are so self critical. I didn’t have any ideas for this weekend’s blog post so I might do the same! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not sure I have any drawings from young childhood…so great that you saved it.
    I don’t know if art is a progression…more like a circling around. I would say you tightened up in your 30s and now you are loosening your lines again. Not better or worse, just different. But all good!
    Perhaps we should all do a “through the decades” post! But that would require me to finish cleaning out the storage room…(K)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Art of Warm Fuzzies | Yvette Carol, Children's Writer

  4. Hmm… my drawings of people at 49 are the same as your drawings of people from the age of 8. I’m particularly impressed by your self-portrait. It’s hard enough to make a drawing that looks recognizably human, let alone recognizably a particular human.

    Liked by 2 people

What's on your mind?

