#DrawABirdDay January 2016

I could only spare 10 minutes to do a sketch for this month’s Draw A Bird Day. I thought this appropriate since I’ve been thinking about sociopathic people who deceive others for their own gain, and, sadly, con artists are not confined to humans.

This was done with a Tombow Calligraphy Pen in a 9″x12″ sketchbook.

Draw a Bird Day is the 8th of each month. I learned about it from the lovely Laura of Create Art Everyday but I forget who is compiling the list this month.

image.jpeg

48 thoughts on “#DrawABirdDay January 2016

  1. IΒ΄m sorry you had to make some bad experiences… The nice thing about animals is that they are never bad on purpose. I really like youΒ΄re drawing, the fine lines highlight the tenderness shown in it really nicely. πŸ’•

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yes, indeed–I was stunned to read that cuckoos and cowbirds lay their eggs in the nests of other birds, which enables their young to be raised by a surrogate. It is (too) easy to anthropomorphize this behaviour when really, birds do what birds do. So I am enjoying your drawing very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. No evil intent behind their actions is what separates other animals from people. Gosh, I am too brooding today! I will lighten up after this. πŸ˜€ Hubby was one of the scientists on a forest fragmentation study a couple of decades ago and it’s found that the fragmentation has been to the detriment of song birds because more have to nest along the edges where cowbirds proliferate. So sad.

    Thank you! Glad you like this sketch!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love it, Teresa, and thanks for the link! This is an amazing ten minute sketch! And sometimes I find that emotions, big ones, doesn’t matter bad or good, make GREAT art. This is a perfect example of this. Love the spare lines capturing the essence. Makes me wanna stare. Awesome. Glad you’re turning this situation around and into something beautiful, my friend. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reading everyone’s thoughts and comments was truly therapy for me! Such good insight. So recap; people (not all) can be calculating for their own personal gain and animals instinctively do what they can to survive. Okay I want to hang out with the kind and caring people who do 10 minute sketches that illustrate such depth of thought!

    Like

  6. So I was thinking… aw… a big, cute, parasitic bird… the ingenious ways female birds think of to have more time to preen! And then I read your first sentence with ‘sociopathic’ and I laughed and laughed.

    Hmm… So female cuckoos remove host eggs and replace them with their own and then when the baby cuckoo hatches, if there are any host babies in the nest, it gets rid of them when it is two days old. That sounds pretty harsh. Though not nasty. Because they are acting on instinct. Whereas humans have a choice. Though if one is inclined to be awful… it is really hard not to be nasty!

    Excellent sketch :-). So much to think about…

    Hope you have a good “nasty radar” so you can protect yourself like birds who kill parasite eggs (although I think I read that sometimes the parasitic parents retaliate… yikes!).

    Liked by 2 people

  7. LOL! You crack me up all the time, Myriam! You always have such funny and insightful things to say. πŸ˜„ Yeah, I never fault wildlife for doing what they do because their actions aren’t premeditated and there’s no ill-will (although the actions may seem cruel; and yeah, kind of weird and freaky about the parasitic parent retaliating!).

    I wish I had a radar for sociopaths but as jaded as I think I am, I like to believe the best in everyone I meet until I get bitten. 😬

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Pingback: Draw a Bird Day Roundup for January 2016 | method two madness

  9. Well, your drawing has a lot of philosophical weight :-). Birds will kill other bird eggs for other reasons too… food and nest competition. I found out recently that Golden Eagles usually lay two eggs and often, the younger chick is eaten by the older one before it fledges. All kinds of survival strategies!

    Well, I suppose a few bites are inevitable. Do you know if the wagtail knows it is being “bitten” when it is feeding the cuckoo chick? It seems obvious that the cuckoo is not a wagtail.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I have no idea, Myriam. It’s interesting that some birds seem wiser to being fooled than others. I guess wagtails are not the brightest bulbs on the tree. ;} I mean, really, you’d think, “hullo! see how much bigger the ‘baby’ is??”

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

